Can you get a medical card with a felony in Oklahoma?
By Therin Miller | Resource | Sept. 3, 2020
Q&A: Can I Get a Medical Marijuana License with a Criminal Record?
There are a lot of questions about the medical marijuana program in Oklahoma. People want to know: If they are a convicted felon, have a criminal record, or have pending legal issues can they get a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma. The answer is, Yes! BUT, there is a waiting period for any commercial licensees such as Dispensaries, Processing, Growers, and so on.
As a convicted felon, someone with a criminal record, and a potential medical marijuana patient in Oklahoma it not hard to get your MMJ Card.
State Question 788 which was passed in 2018 does not mention anything about criminal records or felony convictions for potential patients medical marijuana cards. The only requirements to actually qualify and get your medical marijuana cards in Oklahoma is:
Be 18 years old
Complete the application
Get a medical marijuana recommendation from a licensed Physician
Pay the $100 Licensing fee ($20 for individuals on Medicaid, Medicare, or SoonerCare and now 100% Disabled Veterans)
According to the law, a person in possession of an Oklahoma medical marijuana license shall be able to:
1. Consume marijuana legally;
2. Legally possess up to three (3) ounces (84.9 grams) of marijuana on their person;
3. Legally possess six (6) mature marijuana plants;
4. Legally possess six (6) seedling plants;
5. Legally possess one (1) ounce (28.3 grams) of concentrated marijuana;
6. Legally possess seventy-two (72) ounces (2037.6 grams) of edible marijuana; and
7. Legally possess up to eight (8) ounces (226.4 grams) of marijuana in their residence.
If you want to get a commercial marijuana license of any type then you will face problems as a convicted felon or have a criminal record.
If you have a non-violent felony conviction, then you must wait a two year period from the date of your last conviction before you are eligible to apply.
If you have a violent felony conviction, then you must wait five year period from the date of your last conviction.
What are the general requirements to get a commercial marijuana license in Oklahoma?
You must be 25 years old
Register Your Business in Oklahoma with the Secretary of State
75% of the owners are Oklahoma residents as required by SQ 788.
You can find out more about the requirements for Oklahoma medical marijuana commercial licensees you can find them here on the OMMA website.
Get the updated requirements for growers in Oklahoma here.